b, d, h, j, k, l, m, n, p, r, t, v, w, z

The English alphabet has 26 letters.
Fourteen of the letters stand for one sound each: Bb, Dd, Hh, Jj, Kk, Ll, Mm, Nn, Pp, Rr, Tt, Vv, Ww, and Zz.

With the exceptions of j and y,  the English consonant letters that stand for a a sound of their own are the same as the IPA symbols for them.

b  /b/  as in boy
d  /d/  as in dog
h  /h/  as in hot
j  /d/  as in jet
k  /k/  as in keep
l   /l/   as in let
m  /m/ as in man
n  /n/  as in nut
p  /p/  as in pig
r  /r/   as in run
t   /t/  as in top
v   /v/ as in van
w  /w/ as in win
z  /z/   as in zip

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *